Official State of Iowa Website

Important Government Agencies for Work Law

Information iconGovernment agencies are important enforcers of work laws in Iowa. Both Iowa agencies and federal agencies are involved in work law. In some cases, workers need to file a complaint with an agency before they can bring their own lawsuit against an employer. 

The best agency to contact for help or more information depends on the circumstances. More information on many of the agencies important to work law is included below. Individual pages in the People's Law Library Work Law topic area also often link out to more information from government agencies.

Major State of Iowa Work Law Agencies

Major Federal Work Law Agencies

Major State of Iowa Work Law Agencies

Iowa Department of Inspections, Appeals, & Licensing

The Iowa Department of Inspections, Appeals, & Licensing is home to several Iowa agencies that deal with work law. The Department provides resources for both employers and workers.

Division of Labor & Iowa OSHA

The Iowa Division of Labor handles work-related topics like worker pay and child labor. Iowa OSHA deals with workplace health and safety. 

Division of Worker's Compensation

The Division of Worker's Compensation runs Iowa's workers' compensation system, for workers who are injured on the job. 

Iowa Civil Rights Commission

The Iowa Civil Rights Commission handles complaints about discrimination in a wide variety of areas, including in employment.

Iowa Employment Appeal Board

The Employment Appeal Board takes appeals of unemployment insurance benefit decisions issued by Administrative Law Judges (ALJ). It also reviews ALJ decisions in other employment-related issues. 

Iowa Workforce Development

Iowa Workforce Development (IWD) provides resources for workers and employers. IWD handles unemployment benefits insurance claims.

Iowa Vocational Rehabilitation Services

Iowa Vocational Rehabilitation Services is a division of IWD that provides work-related assistance to people with disabilities. 

Major Federal Work Law Agencies

U.S. Department of Labor

The United States Department of Labor handles many aspects of federal labor law. Within the Department of Labor, several agencies address specific issues, including:

Wage and Hour Division

The Wage and Hour Division (WHD) enforces many federal laws that affect workers, including the minimum wage, overtime pay, and child labor requirements of the Fair Labor Standards Act. WHD administers and enforces many other laws as well, which are listed on their website

Occupational Safety and Health Administration

The Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) sets and enforces standards relating to safe and healthy working conditions.

Office of Labor-Management Standards

The Office of Labor-Management Standards (OLMS) adopts and enforces standards relating to union elections and finances for unions representing workers in the private sector. OLMS also provides reports on unions' financial conditions and reports on money employers spend during union organizing campaigns.

Office of Disability Employment Policy

The Office of Disability Employment Policy (ODEP) coordinates with employers and the government to increase success in the workplace for people with disabilities.

Equal Employment Opportunity Commission

The Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) enforces federal laws that make it illegal to discriminate against a job applicant or worker because of certain protected characteristics. The laws apply at all stages of the work process, including hiring, firing, promotions, training, pay, and benefits. 

National Labor Relations Board

The National Labor Relations Board (NLRB) protects workers' rights to organize, to work together to seek better working conditions, and to determine whether to have unions as their bargaining representative. The agency also acts to prevent and remedy unfair labors practices committed by employers and unions in the private sector.

U.S. Department of Justice: Civil Rights Division

The Civil Rights Division of the U.S. Department of Justice (DOJ) enforces federal statutes prohibiting discrimination, including employment discrimination.

Employment Litigation Section

The Employment Litigation Section enforces a wide variety of laws, including Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 (along with EEOC) and the Pregnant Workers Fairness Act. 

Immigrant and Employee Rights Section

The Immigrant and Employee Rights Section enforces the anti-discrimination provision of the Immigration and Nationality Act. This law prohibits employment discrimination based on citizenship status and national origin, unfair practices during employment eligibility verification, and retaliation or intimidation. 

Ask a Law Librarian

Are you a worker with questions about your rights under federal law? Visit for a variety of resources.

Are you an employer who needs more information about complying with federal law? Visit for a variety of resources.

Related Pages

Work Law

The information in the People's Law Library is for informational purposes only. Nothing on this website is legal advice. The law is complicated and many aspects of the law change regularly. Consider reaching out to a lawyer. More information about how to find a lawyer, including free and low-cost options, is available on the Finding a Lawyer page.